Log in
Log in

Renew Membership
(Must be logged in to renew Membership)

2020-2021 Nominees


Patricia Harburg-Petrich, S.E.
BuroHappold Engineering

Patricia Harburh-Petrich SE, LEED AP BD+C is an Associate Principal at BuroHappold Engineering. She has designed structural solutions for many building types, including commercial, healthcare, education, sports, and industrial. She has a particular interest in historic retrofit projects and sustainable design and she has a passion for community-centric work.  Patti is a licensed Structural Engineer in the state of California, LEED Accredited Professional, Building Design + Construction, and certified Disaster Service Worker for the State of California Safety Assessment Program. She serves on the board of the ACE Mentor Program and volunteers for the Spark Mentor Program.


Brett Beekman, S.E.


Brett Beekman, SE is currently Supervisor of the South Los Angeles Region for the Office of Statewide Health Planning and Development (OSHPD).   He has 35 years of experience in structural engineering design and review, the last 15 of which have been with OSHPD.  As supervisor he is responsible for plan review of General Acute Care Hospitals, Acute Psychiatric Hospitals, Intermediate Care and Skilled Nursing Facilities as prepared by a team of structural engineers, architects, mechanical engineers, electrical engineers, and fire & life safety officers.   His role prior to this as a District Structural Engineer for the Seismic Compliance Unit of OSHPD was the generation, implementation and review of the online reporting process that OSHPD has made available to hospitals for meeting the requirements of Senate Bill 499.  Further duties include management of all Structural Contract Out Retainer Contracts and agreements, development and management of California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) Retainer Contracts and structural review of Nonstructural Performance Category (NPC) upgrade documents.  Previously, Mr. Beekman as a Senior Structural Engineer at OSHPD was involved in structural plan review for OSHPD 1 and OSHPD 2 buildings in the South Region.  Since 2008, Mr. Beekman has been an OSHPD Representative to the Hospital Building Safety Board - Administrative Processes, Code Changes, and Standard Details Subcommittee which is responsible for development of secondary structural typical details known as OSHPD Preapproved Details (OPD’s) for use on hospitals.  Prior to coming to OSHPD, Mr. Beekman worked for John A. Martin & Associates developing structural solutions to various hospitality, commercial, public, gaming, parking and health related construction projects.

Bernard Cruz, P.E.
Hilti North America

Bernard Cruz, P.E., is an alumni of California State Polytechnic University, Pomona, where he attended college on an Air Force ROTC Scholarship.  He received his B.S. in Civil Engineering in 2000 and worked as a Structural Engineer on a number of Power, Petrochemical and Heavy Industrial projects at the Fluor Corporation.  He is currently the Manager of Engineered Solutions for Hilti North America where he has spent the last 17 years of his career.  At Hilti, Bernard has been a Field Engineer, Project Manager for the Civil/Energy Business, Division Technical Services Manager and spent several years at Hilti's North American HQ as the Product Manager of Chemical and Heavy Duty Anchors.  At SEAOSC he is a member of the Seismology Committee and Education Committee, where he previously served as Chair.  Bernard is an active Emergency Responder and currently serves as a Structural Engineering Specialist with FEMA Urban Search & Rescue, California Task Force 6.   

Susan Dowty, S.E.

Susan M. Dowty, P.E., S.E., regional manager in the Government Relations department of the International Code Council, has over 35 years of experience in the development and application of building code provisions.  Ms. Dowty provides support to code officials, design professionals and the academic community on the implementation and use of the International Codes. Prior to her current position, Ms. Dowty was Vice President for S.K. Ghosh Associates, a seismic and building code consulting firm. Over the course of her career, she played an active role in the development of structural provisions for the International Building Code, where she served as the Structural Committee Secretariat. She also has been involved in the development and delivery of training programs for code officials on structural provisions in building codes, as well as the development of a number of structural engineering publications. She was appointed by the Governor to the California Building Standards Commission in 2006 and served until 2010.  She served on the BSSC Board of Direction 2016 to 2018.Ms. Dowty currently serves a 3 - year term (2019-2022) on the National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program (NEHRP) Advisory Committee on Earthquake Hazard Reduction (ACEHR) and is a member of the Project Technical Panel (PTP) on the FEMA-NIST Functional Recovery effort.  Ms. Dowty received her Bachelor of Science degree in Civil Engineering from Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo and her Master of Science degree from California State University, Long Beach.

Jesse Karns, S.E.

MiTek USA, Inc.

Jesse Karns is a licensed California Structural Engineer (also licensed in 5 other states) with 27 years of broad engineering expertise and project experience in structural design (new and retrofit) for multiple hazards, including earthquake, blast and disproportionate collapse. Jesse has been involved in the seismic evaluation and risk assessment of numerous structures of all materials, using a variety of analytical tools and methodologies; including nonlinear dynamic time history analysis and high-fidelity physics-based finite-element modeling and analysis of steel frame systems with LSDyna. With MiTek since 2009; Jesse leads the lateral systems design group, as well as leading MiTek’s R&D efforts in research, design development and testing of lateral force resisting systems and components for resisting earthquake forces in Muti-Family residential wood structures. Jesse is a member of the SEAOSC Seismology Committee (Chair from 2015-2017), the SEAOC Seismology Committee (Chair in 2017-2018), and ASCE Disproportional Collapse Standards Committee.

Nominations Committee

Bob Lyons, S.E., Brandow & Johnston, Chair
Matt Barnard, S.E., Degenkolb Engineers
Kelsey Parolini, S.E., SSG Structural Engineer, LLP
Bryan Seamer, S.E., LPA
Lorena Arce, P.E., Lindapter International
Liz Mahlow, P.E., Nous Engineering
Jesse Karns, S.E., MiTek USA, Inc.
Nils Fox, Sika Corporation
Mehran Pourzanjani, S.E., Saiful/Bouquet Structural Engineers


The Structural Engineers Association of Southern California (SEAOSC) is the oldest structural engineering association in the world


437 S. Cataract Ave., #4-B
San Dimas, CA 91773
Phone:   562-908-6131
Fax:   909-305-9400
Advertise With Us

Managed by Co-Pilots