Menu
Log in

Structural Engineers Association of Southern California

Log in

SEAOSC’s committees remain the most vital part of the association. Without the volunteer activities coordinated through and completed by our committees, the SEAOSC's ability to serve our members and our community of Southern California is stymied.

In fulfilling our mission to Empower Members and Advance the Structural Engineering Profession in Service of our Community; our committee structure is established to provide a shared purpose, consistency in messaging, integrated support between committees, and connection to SEAOC and external partners.

This requires an extensive committee structure of volunteer members developing and evaluating various structural engineering design philosophies and standards, providing technical seminars for structural engineering continuing education, as well as assisting building code officials in the development of building codes at the local, state and national levels. In these efforts, SEAOSC Committees provide connection to the community with information bulletins regarding design standards and earthquake hazards and participating in engineering mentoring and education programs for local schools.

Committee meetings are open to anyone to attend as an observer. However, voting on committee business reserved for SEAOSC members. We encourage you to contact the Committee Chair directly using the Roster below to learn more about the committee's projects and meetings.

Community Service

Committee Chair/s Contact
Disaster Emergency Services
Laura Basualdo / Doug Litchfield
disaster@seaosc.org
Legislative and Professional Practices Daniel Wang
professional@seaosc.org
Safer Cities Initative Organized through Codes & Standards  
Sustainability / Resilience Timothy Saenz sustainable@seaosc.org

Member Empowerment

Committee
Chair/s
Contact
Communications Maria Mohammed communications@seaosc.org
Diversity & Inclusion Lorena Arce diversity@seaosc.org
Education
Siddharth Awasthi education@seaosc.org
Membership Kerry Regan / Christian Cody membership@seaosc.org
Women in SE Michelle Kam-Biron wise@seaosc.org
Younger Members Jessica Chen / Sikandar Porter-Gill
ym@seaosc.org


Professional Advancement

Committee Chair/s Contact
Codes & Standards Colin Kumabe / Michael Ciortea code@seaosc.org
CMU Forming - Contact President if Interested president@seaosc.org
Concrete Dragos Ursu / Nils Fox concrete@seaosc.org
Existing Buildings Daniel Zepeda / Garrett Hagen existing@seaosc.org
New Buildings Forming - Contact President if Interested president@seaosc.org
Safer Cities Initiative
Organized through Codes & Standardscode@seaosc.org
Seismology & Hazards Cairo Briceno / Gabriel J. Acero    seismology@seaosc.org
Specialty Materials Forming - Contact President if Interested president@seaosc.org
Steel Ashwani Dhalwala steel@seaosc.org
Wood Zizhao (Zee) He wood@seaosc.org

Thank you

to our Platinum Sustaining Sponsor

Click here for Additional Sponsorship Opportunities

Structural Engineers Association Southern California

Contact Us

SEAOSC Office
10945 Burbank Blvd. 
North Hollywood, CA 90601
Phone: (562) 908-6131
Email: seaosc@seaosc.org
Media Relations
Advertise With Us

About SEAOSC

The Structural Engineers Association of Southern California (SEAOSC) is the oldest structural engineering association in the world. 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software